« Back

Salad - The Salad Way

Release Date: 30 Aug 2019
Yellow LP
Three Bean Records
More Info:

Salad are back with exquisite new album 'the salad way', the band's first album of new studio material as Salad for over 21 years.

Featuring 13 new tracks, ‘the salad way’ sees a band reborn and on top form. 'under the wrapping, the paper' is the first single and comes at you like a relentless post-punk stream of consciousness with a cheeky Motown beat.

Marijne’s ‘conversational’ vocals are marinated with searing guitars and throbbing bass, with some impressionistic piano occasionally creeping in and out, from under the wrapping paper, of course. Salad were formed in London, England in 1992 by Marijne Van Der Vlugt, Paul Kennedy, Pete Brown and Rob Wakeman. They released their hit debut album 'drink me' in 1995 featuring singles drink the elixir and motorbike to heaven.

Follow up 'ice cream' (1997) was produced by Donald Ross Skinner, with Charley Stone joining as a live member in 1996. The original Salad parted ways in 1998 but made friends and returned in 2017 after Paul and Marijne started writing together again in 2016 and recorded an album with Donald under the name salad undressed.

The current line-up of Salad is Marijne Van Der Vlugt (vocs/keyboards), Paul Kennedy (guitar/vocs), Pete Brown (bass), Charley Stone (guitar/vocs), Donald Ross Skinner (drums).