« Back

Jo Passed - Their Prime

Release Date: 25 May 2018
Clear LP
Sub Pop Records
More Info:

Off kilter, psychedelic rhythms meet c86 and shoegaze – impossible to pin down and relentlessly fun, you’ll find bits of XTC, Sonic Youth and Methyl Etehel in here waiting to get uncovered.

Opening with ‘left’, ‘their prime’ demonstrates that timeless knack for dreamy melodies - chord progressions that sound like they were created in a land far, far away. Lyrically, however, it’s imbued with a philosophical longing for answers to questions that have resurfaced for the first time since the explosion of counterculture in the late 1960's and early 1970's. You can hear the frustrations and the jitters in the crashing loud-and-quiet motifs throughout the album’s twelve tracks, which offer up a patchwork quilt of sound, similar to faust’s ‘iv’ or fugazi’s ‘red medicine’.


  1. left
  2. mdm
  3. glass
  4. undemo
  5. facetook
  6. repair
  7. r.i.p.
  8. millennial trash blues
  9. you, prime
  10. sold
  11. another nowhere
  12. places please
Jo Passed