« Back

James - Living In Extraordinary Times

Release Date: 03 Aug 2018
Magenta Vinyl
BMG Rights Management
More Info:

RSD Stores Exclusive grey gatefold package with magenta coloured vinyl - includes download card.

This summer, James are back with new songs forged in these strangest of days. 

The Mancunians returned in May with the ‘Better Than That’ EP and they will follow that in August with their 15th studio album, aptly titled ‘Living In Extraordinary Times’ on infectious Music. 

The band’s longevity can be attributed to their constant process of renewal and reinvention. Their most recent album, 2016’s ‘Girl at the End of the World’ debuted at number two in the UK album charts. In total, they have sold more than 25 million albums worldwide, including their 1998 ‘Best Of’ which was a UK number one and went triple platinum. James’ reputation as a uniquely transcendent live act is well-earned, having headlined festivals from Glastonbury in 1992 to Festival No.6 in 2015. 

The new recording sessions were overseen by Mercury Prize-winning producer Charlie Andrew and rising star Beni Giles. 

‘Hank’, which appears on the EP and opens the new record, is further evidence that James have no inclination to shy away from politics. Booth is an Englishman in America, and that particular perspective on Donald Trump’s American carnage couldn’t help but have an impact on the writing of the record

As well as biting social commentary, ‘Living In Extraordinary Times’ also sees Booth speak frankly about deeply personal issues. On ‘Coming Home (Pt. 2)’, he writes - not for the first time - about the pain of being a father on tour away from a young child. 

That song features an appearance from long-time James collaborator Brian Eno.

The new album also features EP title track ‘Better Than That’, in which Booth urges the universe to do its worst, like a man squaring up to life itself.
“You can do better than that,” he sings. “Hit me again and show me where I’m cracked.”


1. Hank
2. Coming Home (Pt.2)
3. Leviathan
4. Heads
5. Many Faces
6. How Hard The Day
7. Extraordinary Times
8. Picture Of This Place
9. Hope To Sleep
10. Better Than That
11. Mask
12. What's It All About