« Back

Emily Barker - Sweet Kind Of Blue

Release Date: 19 May 2017
Format:
Indies exclusive blue vinyl.
Label:
Everyone Sang
More Info:

Sweet Kind of Blue is her first full studio album since 2013's critically lauded Dear River and marks a new sound for Barker as she returns to the soul and blues influences that first inspired her to become a songwriter and musician. 

Emily Barker's new album was recorded at Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis with Grammy winning producer Matt Ross-Spang (Jason Isbell, Margo Price) and an allstar cast of Memphis session players. 

Emily Barker is best known as the writer and performer of the award-winning theme to BBC crime drama Wallander starring Kenneth Branagh. She has released music as a solo artist as well as with various bands including The Red Clay Halo, Vena Portae and Applewood Road. In 2015 she composed her first full feature film soundtrack for Jake Gavin's Hector, which won a Scottish BAFTA for its lead actor, Peter Mullan.

TRACK LISTING

Sweet Kind Of Blue 
Sister Goodbye 
Sunrise 
No. 5 Hurricane 
If We Forget
To Dance 
Crazy Life 
Over My Shoulder
Change 
More! 
Underneath My Honey Moon

You can catch Emily on a record store at the following places:

Fri 19 May 10am - breakfast signing - Trading Post, Stroud

Fri 19 May, 1pm - Badlands, Cheltenham 

Fri 19 May, 7pm - Sound Knowledge (band) Marlborough

Sat 20 May, 1pm - Rough Trade East (band) London

Sat 20 May, 5pm - Music's Not Dead Bexhill on Sea

Sun 21 May, 3pm - Nottingham Rough Trade

Mon 22 May, 12.15pm - Jumbo, Leeds

Tue 23 May, -7.30pm - David’s, Letchworth

Wed 24 May, 6pm - Bristol Rise 

Thu 25 May, 6pm - Oxford Truck

Fri 26 May, 6.30pm - Black Circle Records, Leighton Buzzard

Sat 27 May 1pm Pebble, Eastbourne

Sat 27 May 3pm Union Music Store, Lewes

Thu 1 Jun, 6pm - Brill, London

Sat 3 Jun 3pm  - Hundred Records, Romsey

Emily Barker
Share with